The Old New Me

I was doing so well.  I was off the booze, off the Lortabs, off the Ambien.   Life was starting to look better, feel fresher and I was sleeping OK. My semester ended on a high note.  So what, you may ask, is the problem?

Put simply, I do not do injuries well.  When you take away my exercise, you also take away my mental health therapy.  Add to this the fact that the weight stacks on quickly when I am not exercising.  I have gained about 10 lbs in the last couple of months.  Fortunately, I have a consult with the orthopedic surgeon on Monday.  I want resolution.  I don’t want months more of conservative treatment.  Clearly, conservative treatment isn’t working.  I am ready to confront this thing head-on.  My MRA shows a labral tear and detachment.  Again, no mention of osteoarthritis.  I will be interested to find out from the OS if he thinks I have any OA.

So here I go again, time to spring clean myself.  Actually, if I am honest with myself, the booze hasn’t been much of a problem, and neither has the Lortab.  I take it because I am in pain.  The problem is that I am on a narc contract and taking it for the hip (which is not why it is prescribed) makes me feel like a junkie.  After Monday, I will be able to contact my neurologist and perhaps do away with the narcs for the time being.  If I am given a cortisone shot in the hip, I shouldn’t need pain meds for a while.  This would be good because if I need surgery, I don’t want to have any degree of tolerance to any of these drugs.

I really feel for those who are worse off than me.  This is the first time that I have ever been totally restricted due to mechanical failure!  And I am proving to be a great big baby.  Yes, there are other forms of exercise I could do, but I have a 3 and a 5 year old and most other forms of exercise take a lot more time than going for a jog or lifting weights in the basement.  Somehow, I need to find a happy medium.  I am still searching.

4 thoughts on “The Old New Me

  1. Wow. It’s so hard to feel good or even normal when you’re in pain or sick. Our bodies can be so wonderful to us and so cruel at the same time. Good luck with your healing process!

      • Haha! You’re welcome! I have found myself getting frustrated with other bloggers who follow me and then never show up again. It makes me feel like they only followed me or liked a post, so I can follow them. Am I paranoid, or what? It’s sort of my latest issue with blogging. I think we’re all probably so self-absorbed anyway, so it’s good to get out of your own head too! 😉 Anyway, I have gotten pretty selective about that because I don’t have time to follow everyone, and I don’t like being used- LOL. Like I’ve said before, I find your honesty courageous and refreshing. 🙂 Keep blogging.

Leave a comment