About those Resolutions

This is it, right? The first day of the rest of our lives?  A new day, a new year. Time for new resolutions.  Why is it that resolutions on the first day of a new year are supposed to carry more weight than resolutions made at other times of the year?  It doesn’t seem to make any difference to me; I never follow through!  However, since New Year’s Eve is usually the last “celebratory” day of the silly season, it does make some sense to set a goal of returning to “healthy” eating on January 1. For me, this means getting back onto the Weight Watcher’s diet and getting back in to an exercise routine.

With little children, my days of heavy partying on this last holiday of the year are gone. On a whim, I invited my running buddy and her family over to see in the new year with us.  Her children are older than mine, with her youngest being 10 and my oldest being 6. We had the best NYE that I can remember. We celebrated in a way that was similar to my own family celebrations when I was still a child. We ate a lot of food, drank some wine and champagne and played games.  All of the kids had a blast from the 16-year-old to the 3-year-old. The evening was so nostalgic that I hope we will now have started a NYE tradition.

My other resolutions include writing more and making more of an effort to keep in touch with friends. I miss my friends.  Talking to them through Facebook or email just isn’t the same. So for me, diet, exercise, g-rated parties, friends and writing are all on my list of resolutions. Now, how about you?

What NYE traditions do you have?  Did you make any resolutions this year?

Leave a comment